Monday | November 30, 2015
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Rule is cool in Kona

This past Sunday, Team Mango Races held its annual Pre-Ironman Triathlon — a half-Ironman-distance swim, a 15-mile bike ride and a six-mile run.

This race has become a favorite among the athletes because of the challenge that the quick, hilly course brings.

The athletes began with a 1.2-mile swim in Kailua Bay. After completing the swim, they mounted their bikes and rode a hilly three-loop course to finish the 15-mile bike portion. Upon completion of the bike course, the athletes slipped on their running shoes, ran one loop of the bike course for the six-mile run leg and then raced across the finish line located at the swim start.

Australia’s Tony Rule flew into first place with a total time of 1 hour, 48 minutes, 14 seconds. Rule had the fastest time for the six-mile run, completing it in 34:37. Austria’s Daniel Blum, who finished with an official time of 1:50:13, earned second place. Blum recorded the fastest bike time of the day with a bike split of 42:48 and the fastest swim with a split of 29:25. Local athlete Michael DeCarli rounded out the top three with a time of 2:04:14.

The women’s race was a close one, with less than 5 minutes separating the top three.

Serena Chamberlin finished ninth overall and first for the women with a time of 2:31:20. Lori Montgomery earned second for the women in a time of 2:24:07. Trailing just behind was Kristy Purves for third at 2:35:42.

Claiming the title for the fastest relay team were Rob Van Geen and Kym Kiser, who finished with a total time of 2:04:14. Claiming second place for the relay teams were Sarah Chang and Orestes Barrios at 2:13:14. Doug Leopold, who tagged off Daniel Blum, finished third for the relays with a time of 2:17:39.

Team Mango Races would like to give a huge mahalo to all the volunteers who help make all the races run smoothly and congratulations to all who participated in the Pre-Ironman Triathlon.

Team Mango Races’ next event is the Post-Ironman Sprint Triathlon, which takes place Oct. 21 at Kailua Pier. The race will include a quarter-mile swim, a 10-mile bike ride and a two-mile run.

For more information about Team Mango Races, visit

This weekend is a busy one for athletes as we head into Ironman week.

The ninth annual Kukio Blue Water Swim will take place at 8 a.m. Saturday at Kukio Bay. The registration fee for the 1.2-mile swim $60 per athlete ($20 for keiki age 18 and under). All proceeds from this race go to Hui Laulima O Kekaha Kai.

On Sunday, Peoples Advocacy for Trails Hawaii will conduct its 27th annual PATH Run at 7:30 a.m. at Hale Halawai on Alii Drive. The event offers a five-kilometer run/walk, a 10k run a keiki dash. The registration fee for the 5K and 10K runs is $30 for adults and $20 for children age 14 and under; the keiki dash is free.

For all those who have already registered, you can pick up your race number on Saturday from 7 to 10 a.m. at Kailua Pier next to the Ironman info tent. You can also register then if you have not already. Athletes can also pick up race numbers and register on race morning from 6:15 to 7 a.m. at Hale Halawai, but T-shirt availability is not guaranteed for late registration.

Hope to see all of you out there. Until next time, happy training.

Pre-Ironman Triathlon

Race held Sunday in Kailua-Kona


1. Tony Rule 1:48:14

2. Daniel Blum 1:50:13

3. Michael DeCarli 2:04:14

4. Jason Nixon 2:08:24

5. Kevin Murar 2:09:18

6. Chris Prater 2:11:09

7. Kris Kiser 2:11:41

8. Harry Yoshita 2:27:41

9. Serena Chamberlin 2:31:20

10. Lori Montgomery 2:34:07

11. Kristy Purves 2:35:42

12. Bob Smith 2:36:40

13. Robert Puaokalani 2:37:11

14. Dennis Budd 2:41:10

15. Gerals Gruber 2:47:53

16. Kevin Prater 2:48:55

17. John Miller 2:55:35

18. Janice Meek 2:59:29

19. Cindy Wilde 3:00:05

20. Daniel Piccuta 3:00:58

21. Michael Traub 3:01:04

22. Wendy Minor 3:07:13


1. Rob Van Green/Kym Kiser 2:04:14

2. Sarah Chang/Orestes Barrios 2:13:14

3. Da niel Blum/Doug Leopold 2:17:39

4. Dave Pratt/Nate Stams 2:18:12

5. C. Gebbie/B. Gebbie/Jan Frith 2:28:47

6. Mike Wolf/Brooke Burgee 2:38:31

7. Bobbi Acheson/Cliff Acheson 2:45:26

8. Mercedes DeCarli/Desire Robinson 2:52:52

Swim Only

1. Sarah Chang 29:50

2. Garrett Oka 30:23

3. Carolyn Gebbie 41:19