Friday | November 17, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Giving honor to the longest day of the year

Team Mango Races held its annual King’s Trail Summer Solstice Run on Friday to celebrate the longest day of the year. The training runs all began at the Natural Energy Lab beach access and ran along the beach with a beautiful view of the sunset.

The six-mile King’s Extreme Trail Run was designed to be a bit more challenging, leading the runners off the sand and onto a side trail of lava rock before taking them back to the sand trail. Running the six miles in an outstanding time of 38 minutes, 59 seconds to win the race was Jason Braswell.

Braswell finished with a lead of 2 1/2 minutes. Second place was earned by Justin Butler with a time of 41:28. John Howerton claimed third in 45:13.

Crossing the finish line eighth overall and first for the women was Dene Sturm. Sturm finished with a speedy time of 57:43. Kristina Sawaya earned second place for the women with a total time of 1:01:47.

The 4.2-mile Pine Trees Beach Stroll was an out-and-back course with the midway point the south end of Pine Trees beach.

Claiming first place overall was Chris Prater. Prater finished with an amazing time of 28:44. Tim Robinson, racing as Kiser Motorcycles, earned second place with a time of 29:13. Not too far behind to take third was Helgi Olafson in 29:37.

Fifth overall and first for the women was Cedes DeCarli. DeCarli ran the 4.2-miles in a swift time of 33:58. Second place was claimed by Kristi Cotton with a time of 36:34. Vicki Brasher earned third, 37:33.

Congratulations to all who participated in this year’s King’s Trail Summer Solstice Runs.

Kicking off the Kona Marathon weekend was the Aloha Friday Run. The fun run began at the Kona Commons shopping center, made one loop on the Friends for Fitness Makaeo Jogging Path and returned to Kona Commons. Finishing in first place with a total time of 19:54 to claim first place was Taishi Okuda. Second place was earned by Celie Mans with a time of 20:22. One second behind to claim third was William Mans in 20:23. Jon Kunitake finished fourth at 21:58, and rounding out the top five was Sherif Mansour at 22:13.

Congratulations to all who participated in the Aloha Friday Run.

The 20th annual Kona Marathon was held on Sunday at the Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa at Keauhou Bay. The marathon, half marathon, 10K and 5K all began at Keauhou Shopping Center and traveled north along Alii Drive to their designated turning points, where the runners all doubled back to the finish line located at the luau grounds of the Sheraton Kona Resort.

Coming into the finish line as the first Big Island resident and overall winner of the 20th Annual Kona Marathon was Allen Wagner of Hilo. Wagner finished the 26.2-miles in an amazing time of 2:33:38, averaging 5:52 minutes per mile. The second Big Island resident to finish was Laupahoehoe’s Alan Ryan with a total time of 2:59:32. Keish Doi of Kailua-Kona finished third in 3:09:50.

The first Big Island woman to finish the marathon was Brooke Myers of Kailua-Kona. Myers ran a 3:53:17, averaging an 8:55 per mile. Elda Carreon of Kailua-Kona finished in second with a total time of 3:54:42. Third was earned by Katie Vitousek of Kealakekua at 3:58:44.

Chris Gregory of Hilo finished first overall in the half marathon. Gregory finished in a total time of 1:20:16. Volcano’s Lyman Perry was the second Big Island resident to finish at 1:23:30. Third resident to finish was Jason Braswell of Kailua-Kona in 1:26:05.

Running in to claim first place overall for the women in the half marathon was Kailua-Kona’s Rani Henderson. Henderson ran a 1:31:25, running a pace of 6:59 per mile. Melanie Aiona of Kamuela was the second Big island women to finish at 1:37:46. The third resident to finish was Sally Marrack of Hilo in 1:45:28.

Hilo’s Curtis Neck was the first resident to finish the 10K. Neck ran for a total time of 43:00, averaging 6:56 per mile. Second to finish was Elliott Parsons of Kailua-Kona in 43:45. Douglas Leopard of Kailua-Kona finished third in 45:41.

In the women’s 10K, Pamela Harlow of Kailua-Kona was the first island resident to cross the finish line at 50:23 with an average of 8:07 minute miles. Cecilia Woodbury of Kailua-Kona finished second with a time of 50:37. The third resident to finish was Cedes DeCarli in 51:41.

Sprinting into the finish line with a time of 21:18 for the 5K race was Brendan J. Moynahan of Kamuela. Moynahan averaged a pace of 6:52 for the 3.1 miles. Second place was earned by Stephen Cosgrove of Kailua-Kona with a time of 21:26. Kailua-Kona’s Jacob Weza took third in 23:12.

The first island woman to finish the 5K was Kailua-Kona’s Darcy May. May ran a 23:53, averaging 7:41 per mile. Kaua Jackson of Kailua-Kona was the second resident to finish at 24:04. Third place was earned by Maria Oka of Kailua-Kona in 24:45.

Congratulations to all the runners in the 20th annual Kona Marathon. Hope to see you all out there again next year.

This Saturday, the Hapuna Rough Water Swim is being held at the Hapuna State Beach Park at 8 a.m. The one-mile swim is part of the triple crown races (along with the Cinco de Mayo and King’s Swim) and is a fun tradition for swimmers on the Big Island. Registration is now $30 for ages 10 and over and $25 for ages 10 and under. Hope to see you out there.

Until next time, happy training.