A Kona grand jury returned indictments last week against two men in separate child molestation cases.
A four-count indictment charges 31-year-old Dustin J. Jose of Kealakekua with first-degree sexual assault, continuous sexual assault of a minor under the age of 14 and two counts of third-degree sexual assault.
According to the document, there were two victims, both minors identified only by their initials.
One victim, the document states, was born in February 1999, and Jose allegedly “knowingly engaged in sexual penetration” with the victim and “subjected (the victim) to sexual contact” between May 25, 2005, and Nov. 6, 2006, “the exact dates and times being unknown.”
The second victim, according to the indictment, was born in July 1995, and Jose allegedly “knowingly subjected (the victim) to sexual contact … or caused the minor to have sexual contact with him.”
A bench warrant was issued with the indictment, setting Jose’s bail at $50,000, directing him to have no contact with either minor and ordering him not to own, use or possess any firearms or ammunition.
Hawaii court records indicate that Jose does not have any felony convictions, and he is not listed in the state’s sex offender registry.
In the second, unrelated case, a two-count indictment charges 69-year-old Nicholas Krivanek of Ocean View with two counts of continuous sexual assault of a minor under the age of 14.
According to the document, there were two victims, both identified only by their initials.
The indictment alleges that the molestation of one minor occurred between June 21, 2007, and July 19, 2011, and the molestation of the second minor allegedly occurred between Jan. 1, 2009, and July 19, 2011.
The document states that Krivanek “did intentionally, knowingly, or reckless engage in three or more acts of sexual penetration or sexual contact” with each victim when they were younger than 14. Neither the ages or the dates of birth of the victims were specified.
A search of Hawaii court records turned up no criminal convictions for Krivanek, and he is not listed in the state’s sex offender registry.
First-degree sexual assault and continuous sexual assault of a minor under the age of 14 are Class A felonies punishable by up to 20 years in prison. Third-degree sexual assault is a Class C felony punishable by up to five years imprisonment.