Friday | April 17, 2015
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

In Brief | Schools

Four seniors win Reagan scholarships

The Hawaii County Ronald Reagan Scholarship Fund awarded four scholarships to seniors at West Hawaii high schools. Each applicant wrote an essay dealing with provisions of the Bill of Rights.

Andrew B. Trump of Kohala High School and Arwen May Potochney of Honokaa High School each won $2,500 scholarships. Trump will attend Wheaton College and Potochney will attend the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

Joshua Tobias of Honokaa High School, who also plans to attend UH-Hilo, won a $2,000 scholarship. Erlynn Takahashi of Honokaa High School won a $500 scholarship. Takahashi plans to attend community college in Hawaii.

The Hawaii County Ronald Reagan Scholarship Fund awards college scholarships to public high school seniors in Hawaii County. The fund is operated wholly in and for the benefit of Big Island residents.

Call 326-2119 for more information.

Konawaena seniors get Rotary scholarships

The Rotary Club of Kona Mauka awarded eight scholarships this year to Konawaena High School students.

Alec Lugo, Kaylee Duke and Camille Ricketts each received the Shizuko “Mary” Teshima Scholarship of $1,000 per year for two years.

Ciara Cetraro was awarded the Wayne Hedemann Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 per year for two years.

Megan Vierra won the annual Auntie Valerie Izuno Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 per year for two years.

Kellen Kadooka received the Cou Family Scholarship of $1,000 per year for two years.

Leilani Matsumoto was awarded the Orelup Family Scholarship of $1,000 per year for two years.

Raine Kolman won the Ellen O’Kelly Vocational Scholarship Award of $1,000.

Funding for the scholarships is primarily generated from the club’s annual Valentine Wine Tasting and fall Brewfest fundraisers, along with the support of the Cou, Hedemann, Orelup and Teshima families.

To make a donation, contact Richard Harrison at 328-2513 or

Nine receive Kona Visayan Club funds

The Kona Visayan Club has awarded scholarships nine graduating seniors. Ciara Cetraro, Ashley Teshima and Megan Vierra from Konawaena High School; and Caitlin Howard-Gomez, Michele Eppig, Rachael Bianchi, Alayna Machacek, Jessica Regpala and Samantha Texeira from Kealakehe High School will each receive a scholarship grant of $1,000.

The club provides scholarship grants to graduating high school students pursuing post-secondary education. Students are selected based on academic achievement, financial need and community service.

Ackert earns FSU degree

Andrew K. Ackert graduated summa cum laude from Florida State University with a bachelor of science degree in physics with honors, and a minor in mathematics. Ackert was awarded membership in Phi Beta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Pi Sigma.

He will return to Florida State University to pursue his doctorate in high energy physics.

WHEA robotics show slated for May 25

West Hawaii Explorations Academy will host a FIRST robotics show from 5 to 8:30 p.m. May 25 at the Old Kona Airport Park roller hockey rink. Students from Kealakehe, Ka‘u, Konawaena, Waiakea and the host school will showcase their robots.

The event features robot matches, food, a light bulb exchange and music.

Student entry is free; adults pay $2.

Hookena PTO meets Thursday

The Hookena Elementary School PTO Inc. will hold its 2011-12 fiscal year meeting at 2:30 p.m. Thursday in room P-10 at the school.

Parents, faculty, staff and community members will review the financial standing of the nonprofit and evaluate the financial and social outcome of its May Day hoolaulea. Community input will help set the tone and direction for the upcoming school year.

The nominating committee will submit its slate of candidates, and receive nominations, for board president, vice president, secretary and treasurer.

For more information, call Keoki Kiwaha at 328-2710 or 328-2087.

4-Hers awarded Rosenberg scholarships

The Kona 4-H Federation has announced the recipients of its 2012 Sarah Rosenberg “Make a Difference” 4-H Scholarship. Kalei Greenwell and Jonathan Kutsunai from Kealakehe High School and Delaney Ross from Hawaii Preparatory Academy each received a $1,000 scholarship.

Created in memory of Sarah Rosenberg, the scholarships are awarded to Kona 4-H Federation high school seniors who best exemplify her giving spirit, as well as academic achievement, community service and 4-H philosophy.