In Brief | Schools 7-3-13

Chong’s name in error

Maya-Leliilima Chong recently received her bachelor of arts degree in elementary education (cum laude) from Linfield College in McMinnville, Ore. The school submitted her name incorrectly to the newspaper.

Merriman’s presents scholarships

Merriman’s Restaurant Waimea announces the 2013-14 recipients of the annual Merriman’s Culinary Scholarship. First-year culinary student Cameron Linden, attending University of Hawaii Center at West Hawaii and Tori Hiro, a second-year student attending Hilo Community College have each been awarded $1,050.

Started in 2000, Merriman’s Culinary Scholarship provides scholarships for students entering or continuing in the field of culinary arts at either Hawaii Community College or the University of Hawaii Center at West Hawaii. The scholarships are awarded annually based on an applicant’s outstanding qualities, passion for the field and financial need. To date, Merriman’s Culinary Scholarship has donated a total of $45,150 and assisted more than 40 culinary students in advancing their culinary education.

For more information about the Merriman’s Culinary Scholarship, visit or call 885-6822.

Two earn spots on Taylor dean’s list

Matthew Hamilton and Matthew Orvis, both residents of Kailua-Kona, were named to the spring 2013 dean’s list at Taylor University. Full-time students are named to the dean’s list when they have earned a grade-point average of 3.60 or higher for the term and at least 12 hours carry credit point values.

Founded in 1846, Taylor University is an interdenominational liberal arts university of evangelical faith located in Upland, Ind.

Hospital awards five scholarships

North Hawaii Community Hospital recently awarded scholarships to five Big Island students. Scholarships were presented by Dr. Gary Goldberg, emergency physician; Dr. W. Douglas Hiller, orthopedic surgeon and chief of staff; and Dr. John Dawson, primary care physician.

June Mohr, a resident of Kailua-Kona, received the Peggy Dineen-Orsini Scholarship of $2,000. Mohr is attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa as a pre-nursing major with emphasis on human development and family resources. Private donors along with the hospital’s medical staff fund this scholarship in memory of Peggy Dineen-Orsini, who was a registered nurse at the hospital from 1996 to 2004.

The second scholarship, funded by the medical staff, was awarded to Allen Gail Yvette Nitura and Malia Silva, offering each individual a $1,000 scholarship. Nitura, a 2013 graduate of Honokaa High School, will attend Hawaii Pacific University to major in pre-nursing, while Silva, a resident of Kailua-Kona, is currently attending Hawaii Community College where she is pursuing a pre-nursing major. The medical staff annual scholarships are funded through the dues each physician pays to be a member of the medical staff at NHCH.

The third and final scholarship opportunity is funded by Hawaii Emergency Physicians Associated Inc., an independent physician-owned group of board-certified physicians who provide staffing in NHCH’s Emergency Department. The two $1,000 HEPA scholarships were awarded to North Hawaii high school students: Michelle Ruiz Sahagun of Kapaau, who will attend the University of Hawaii at Hilo to study elementary education, and Mindy Hoolilani Marie Silva of Honokaa, who will study nursing at Hawaii Community College.