Tuesday | April 25, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

In Brief | Schools 5-29-13

Aloha Grown presents sustainability awards

The 2013 Malama Honua Awards were recently presented to organizations on Hawaii Island. The $500 prizes, funded by Aloha Grown, were granted for projects, programs or initiatives that embody the company’s “Support local, sustain the aina and share the aloha” philosophy.

Award winners and projects in West Hawaii include the Hawaii Institute of Pacific Agriculture, “Aloha Classroom;” Malaai: The Culinary Garden of Waimea Middle School, “Farm Stand;” Parker School, “Kihapai Hooulu;” and Waimea Country School, “Na Keiki Aloha Aina.”

Aloha Grown supports sustainability efforts on the Big Island. Two percent of every Aloha Grown sale goes to the Malama Honua Fund, which awards local nonprofits, schools, organizations and initiatives with similar sustainability missions.

To view the essays submitted by all 2013 Malama Honua Award recipients, visit alohagrown.com/malama-honua-fund.html.

Credit union awards scholarships

Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union has announced the winners of its 2013 scholarship program. The $13,500 was awarded to six Hawaii Island high school seniors, selected from more than 69 applicants from 12 Hawaii Island high schools, a home school and an online school. The scholarships are awarded to high school graduates planning to attend a two or four-year institute of higher learning in the coming school year. Each scholarship is named after a community volunteer who made important contributions to Hawaii Community FCU.

The $2,500 John Y. Iwane Scholarship, given to a student who plans to enter an agriculture-related field of study, was presented to Bishop Jedediah Akao. The Kamehameha Schools-Hawaii campus graduate intends to pursue a career in agro-ecology.

The $2,500 Peter T. Hirata Scholarship was awarded to Isaac Ang Han. The Kealakehe High School graduate intends to pursue a career in political science and international economics.

Talmage Iokepa Sadanoshin Nakamoto, a Konawaena High School graduate, was awarded the $2,500 Albert Akana Scholarship. Nakamoto’s career goal is to study mechanical engineering.

The $2,500 Katsumasa Tomita Scholarship was presented to Raelyn Gayle Ganiron Nicolas. The Keaau High School graduate intends to become a radiologic technician.

Kellie Iwasaki, a graduate of Waiakea High School, is the recipient of the $2,500 Frank Ishii Scholarship. Iwasaki will be studying to become a physician.

The $1,000 Student Credit Union Scholarship was presented to Jayvimar Adina Arellano, a graduate of Kohala High School, who intends to pursue a career in teaching mathematics.

Takitani Foundation gives scholarships

The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. has awarded Isaac Ang Han of Kealakehe High School and Gina Maclynn McGuire of Kamehameha Schools-Hawaii $10,000 scholarships as the winners of its top scholarship awards, the Aiko Takitani and the Mamoru Takitani Distinguished Student Awards. Hawaii Preparatory Academy’s Bhillie Luciani received a $3,000 scholarship as a district finalist in the scholarship program; eight seniors from other Big Island schools each received $1,000 scholarships.

The daughter of Helmut-John and Lois McGuire of Mountain View, McGuire has been nationally recognized for her work with the Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary. She will attend Stanford University in September.

Han was also honored for his outstanding academic achievements and strong record of community service. The son of Mark and Christine Han of Kailua-Kona will attend the University of Pennsylvania in the fall.

Luciani, daughter of Janet Nowak and William Luciani of Waimea, will attend the University of Michigan this September.

The eight award recipients of $1,000 from the public schools in the Hawaii School District are: Maria D’Angelo of Hilo High School, Amanda Agdeppa of Honokaa High and Intermediate School; Leilani Desmond of Ka‘u High School; Cherese Shelton of Keaau High School; Michele Sahagun of Kohala High School; Quentin Ikeno of Konawaena High School, Owen Sandstrom of Waiakea High School and Lori Doctor of the Hawaii Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The students were among 63 recipients — one from each of the qualifying public and independent schools in the state — who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need. In total, the foundation awarded $99,000 in scholarships this year.

Observatory career session planned

The Thirty Meter Telescope, in partnership Akamai Workforce Initiative and Hawaii Community College, is encouraging high school students to sign up for this summer’s Akamai Observatory Career Exploration session, offered June 10 through 21 at Kealakehe High School.

Developed to inspire students to explore the range of observatory and other technical careers available in Hawaii, this introductory course gives high school students an opportunity to meet with scientists, engineers and staff from leading observatories and the Natural Energy Laboratory of Hawaii Authority facility.

Students will improve scientific and technical problem-solving skills and leave with knowledge that could direct them to an observatory career path.

Approved by the Department of Education, each 60-hour course is equivalent to a half high school elective credit. Class sizes are limited, so early registration is encouraged.

The session is led by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Institute for Astronomy in partnership with the University of California at Santa Cruz Institute for Scientist and Engineer Educators. This program is being led by ISEE, with funding from TMT.

To register or for more information, call Tiana at the Office of Continuing Education and Training at 934-2696 or email tmkoga@hawaii.edu.

Landowski earns bachelor’s degree

Nicole Landowski of Kailua-Kona was awarded a bachelor of arts cum laude degree during Creighton University’s commencement ceremony May 18.

Creighton University, a Catholic, Jesuit institution, is located in Omaha, Neb.