Sunday | October 23, 2016
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Remembering Cliff Kopp

| | Oct 19 2016 - 12:05am | Comments

Cliff loved puzzles and was a puzzle himself. He was challenging; running you through a series of innocuous questions inevitably leading to a conclusion he hand-picked for you. Cliff had many confusing personas; the unassailable hero dentist, the community builder, the mischief-prone Rotarian, and the relentless, obnoxious contrarian. He remarked that his favorite compliment came from Mayor Billy Kenoi as Cliff walked in, “you see that guy,” said Billy, “he’s a son of a bitch but he gets things done.” Cliff highly valued both descriptions. Nevertheless, Cliff was truly pleasurable company.

  1. | Posted: Oct 9 2016 - 12:05am

    WASHINGTON — Vladimir Putin’s serial humiliations of America’s bewildered secretary of state regarding Syria indicate Putin’s determination to destabilize the world. Here is an even more ominous indication of events moving his way: On just one day last week, Italian ships plucked 6,055 migrants from the Mediterranean.

  2. | Posted: Oct 8 2016 - 12:05am

    Mason Kaawa-Loa, known going forward as MK-L, congratulations on your team’s recent win, I’m sure that is more paramount in your thinking and less so all the publicity around your appearance on the front page of WHT.

  3. | Posted: Oct 8 2016 - 12:05am

    The Mall of America may have started something with the announcement that it would close on Thanksgiving Day. Let’s hope so.

  4. | Posted: Oct 6 2016 - 8:21pm

    WASHINGTON — The “quiet catastrophe” is particularly dismaying because it is so quiet, without social turmoil or even debate. It is this: After 88 consecutive months of the economic expansion that began in June 2009, a smaller percentage of American males in the prime working years (ages 25 to 54) are working than were working near the end of the Great Depression in 1940, when the unemployment rate was above 14 percent. If the labor force participation rate were as high today as it was as recently as 2000, nearly 10 million more Americans would have jobs.

  5. | Posted: Oct 3 2016 - 12:05am

    Donald J. Trump has performed a genuine service to our nation. He has now driven home, in a way no apologist, enabler or timid analyst can plausibly deny, that he is far too nasty, immature and frighteningly undisciplined to be president.

  6. | Posted: Oct 1 2016 - 10:50pm

    Apparently, millions of Americans don’t care that a man now within a nose-hair of the presidency may be the most prolific liar in modern political history. Nor do they care about the authoritarian policies he espouses, his truly scary embrace of dictators abroad and crackpots at home, or his monumental ignorance on every subject.

  7. | Posted: Oct 1 2016 - 12:05am

    Our state and federal governments are in the process of leveling crippling economic impacts on West Hawaii’s ocean recreation industry, with their proposed rules limiting access to spinner dolphins and manta rays in our waters.

  8. Posted: Sep 29 2016 - 8:48pm

    “Nooo! Why can’t they leave nature alone? Let the land be. Let the land breathe!” A man drops to his knees in front of Kukuihaele Park and cries these words upon seeing the destruction of Kukuihaele Park, as the county moved forward with its improvement plan.

  9. | Posted: Sep 29 2016 - 12:05am

    Mitt Romney sunk his 2012 campaign by speaking the truth: that 47 percent of Americans paid no federal income tax, were dependent on government programs and therefore unlikely to support his call for lower taxes.

  10. Posted: Sep 27 2016 - 8:17pm

    I was a 13-year-old kid in 1958, sitting in the Coliseum on Opening Day for the first ever major league game in LA. I couldn’t believe my luck — my favorite team, the Dodgers, had moved to my hometown. Up till then, my favorite team had been the Hollywood Stars of the Pacific Coast League; I was born at Hollywood Presbyterian, so I guess the Stars were my first hometown team.

  11. | Posted: Sep 27 2016 - 12:05am

    Days before the opening of the National Museum of African American History and Culture near the Washington Monument, a couple of bizarre political developments illustrated why we Americans need it.

  12. | Posted: Sep 26 2016 - 12:05am

    I would like to commend Jake Jacobs and West Hawaii today for the column appearing in the Sept. 21 edition. Mr. Jacobs takes to task a very difficult subject of defining what patriotism stands for in an “American” context. I agree that the freedom of speech, the right to voice an opinion is a constitutionally protected right under US law. However, it is not a right “given” or “granted” by man, it is a right of creation.

  13. | Posted: Sep 25 2016 - 12:06am

    Dear Mr. Kaepernick,

  14. | Posted: Sep 24 2016 - 12:05am

    I was wrong. I now see the error of my ways. I thought of the war on drugs as pointless and ineffective. I now see it as perfect for what it is intended to do. Look what would happen if we ended the war.

  15. | Posted: Sep 23 2016 - 12:05am

    I met with famous French oceanographer, Jock Crouton, who was in town to attend the dolphin hearings. He claims he talks to dolphins, and even stranger, they talk to him.