Saturday | January 21, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Remembering Cliff Kopp

| | Oct 19 2016 - 12:05am | Comments

Cliff loved puzzles and was a puzzle himself. He was challenging; running you through a series of innocuous questions inevitably leading to a conclusion he hand-picked for you. Cliff had many confusing personas; the unassailable hero dentist, the community builder, the mischief-prone Rotarian, and the relentless, obnoxious contrarian. He remarked that his favorite compliment came from Mayor Billy Kenoi as Cliff walked in, “you see that guy,” said Billy, “he’s a son of a bitch but he gets things done.” Cliff highly valued both descriptions. Nevertheless, Cliff was truly pleasurable company.

  1. | Posted: Jan 21 2017 - 12:05am

    When someone relinquished a bull python snake earlier this week under the State Department of Agriculture’s amnesty program, it again highlighted how species like snakes can further imperil Hawaii’s already critically endangered forest and seabirds. The populations of several species are so low, that experts working in the field fear they could go extinct within the next five-to-10 years. They’d join a sobering list of 23 endemic Hawaii birds that have gone extinct, gone forever, in the last 200 years or so.

  2. | Posted: Jan 21 2017 - 12:05am

    The states created the federal government and yet they were fearful of this act from the very beginning. The founders somehow knew that the bigger and more powerful the national government, the less personal liberty individual citizens would retain.

  3. | Posted: Jan 20 2017 - 12:05am

    He flabbergasts the Human Race

  4. | Posted: Jan 19 2017 - 12:05am

    Thankfully, the County of Hawaii is taking a first step to protect the jewel of a resource for our community and island, known as the Old Airport Park, by removing those who are squatting and camping illegally.

  5. | Posted: Jan 18 2017 - 12:05am

    Please ask your Hawaii State senator and council members to include a cardiac care unit in a future state budget. It would be $2 million to remodel the emergency room at Kona Community Hospital and money for a stipend for two cardiologists.

  6. | Posted: Jan 18 2017 - 12:05am

    Senior officials of some 70 countries and international organizations gathered in Paris on Sunday to try, one more time, to move forward the project to divide the area shared by Israelis and Palestinians into two states, living side by side in peace.

  7. Posted: Jan 17 2017 - 12:05am

    I read with great interest the recent article in the West Hawaii Today, about the newly raised concerns about poor teacher retention here in the Aloha State. While recruiting from abroad, rather than just from educators on the mainland is an example of “thinking outside of the box,” it’s not the type of solution that will solve our teacher shortage issue in the long run.

  8. | Posted: Jan 17 2017 - 12:05am

    WASHINGTON — After my aunt died recently, a cousin found in her papers the “Petition for Naturalization” that our great-grandfather signed in 1913, 13 years after emigrating from Russia.

  9. | Posted: Jan 16 2017 - 12:05am

    WASHINGTON — Who is John Lewis that Donald Trump should be mindful of him?

  10. | Posted: Jan 16 2017 - 12:05am

    The Nov. 18 Dennis Gregory’s “Feeling down in the Trumps” column has been on my mind. He recommended becoming an “ostrich” and sticking our heads in the sand the next four years.

  11. | Posted: Jan 14 2017 - 12:05am

    As a professional skeptic, I’m going to remain doubtful that Donald Trump has been a willing Russian tool, masterfully serving the needs of a dangerous American adversary. I’m not going to buy all the sordid details of “that crap,” as the president-elect called intelligence reports of his being compromised by nasty people operating out of the Kremlin.

  12. | Posted: Jan 13 2017 - 12:05am

    We can all draw an important lesson from President-elect Trump’s comments after meeting with top U.S. intelligence officials Friday. It does not take a genius’ brain to conclude what most people were saying from the beginning of this completely avoidable squabble. Trump was entirely wrong about the content of the matter and completely wrong about how he handled it. In the process, of course, he damaged his own image as well as U.S. credibility around the world.

  13. | Posted: Jan 12 2017 - 12:05am

    There are heroes all around us and one of them is a cheerful Hawaiian man named Kelii Akina.

  14. | Posted: Jan 12 2017 - 12:05am

    Utah has never been a drinker’s paradise. Most residents belong to the Mormon Church, which forbids the use of alcohol, and the state has notoriously strict liquor laws. Beer on tap at a bar, for example, can have no more than 4 percent alcohol by volume. So it’s no surprise that the Beehive State could be the first to adopt a DUI standard tougher than the current norm.

  15. | Posted: Jan 11 2017 - 12:05am

    If I continue to have the privilege of contributing to West Hawaii Today in 2017, I intend to persist in expressing factually supported opinion that I think most people might otherwise not be exposed to.