Thursday | March 30, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

In Brief | Schools | 5-28-14

May 28, 2014 - 5:51am

Agriculture internships offered this summer

The Kohala Center is seeking Hawaii Island high school students and recent graduates who want to get their hands dirty this summer as paid interns with its Beginning Farmer-Rancher Development Program.

Students may apply now for the program’s two-week agriculture summer internships to be held June 16 through 27 and July 14 through 25. Sessions will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily Monday through Friday and are based at the program’s Ka Hua Aina farm in Honokaa.

Interns will gain hands-on experience in sustainable agriculture, learn about island food systems and receive a $250 stipend. They will work at the program’s farm as well as other sites around the island.

Participants will also gain exposure to various industries related to agriculture in Hawaii from mushrooms to bees through site visits to Waipio, Kohala, Hamakua, Kona and Hilo.

For application deadlines and to apply, visit or call The Kohala Center at 887-6411.

Parker announces scholarship recipients

Parker School has announced the names of recipients of the ninth-grade Richard Smart Scholarships and middle school Ulu Pono Scholarships for the 2014-2015 school year. For each scholarship, three new students and one current student were selected to receive $8,500 toward tuition for each year of their Parker career provided they maintain appropriate academic and behavioral standing.

The Ulu Pono Scholars were selected based on financial need, academic promise, strong character and passion for an area of interest. The Smart Scholars were selected on the basis of financial need, merit and academic potential.

Ninth-grade Richard Smart Scholars: Pono Blaisdell, Spencer Corabi, Owen Matsuda, Mathias Migliorini-Marchesi.

Middle school Ulu Pono Scholars: Emily Fetsch, Benjamin Koaia May, Taiga Okada, Eloise Robertson.

Charter school awards announced

Hawaii Public Charter School Network announced award winners at the 2013-2014 Hawaii Charter Schools Awards on May 15.

The final list includes three peer-nominated categories: Governing Board Member of the Year, Leader of the Year and Circle of Teaching Excellence.

Kona Pacific Public Charter School in Kealakekua won the Creating New Best Practices award. Jonathan Kissida of Hawaii Academy of Arts and Science in Pahoa and Leesa Foreman of West Hawaii Explorations Academy Public Charter School in Kailua-Kona were named to the Circle of Teaching Excellence.

Learn more about Hawaii Public Charter School Network at or follow the organization on Facebook at

Rules for posting comments