Saturday | July 04, 2015
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

In Brief | Schools | 4-30-14

April 30, 2014 - 12:05am

Kealakehe High council to meet

Kealakehe High School’s Community Council meets from 5:15 to 7 p.m. May 8 in the school’s staff cafeteria dining room.

Minutes of all past meetings can be found on the Department of Education’s site at

Parents, students and community members are welcome and encouraged to attend. For more information, contact Connie Simon at 327-4300, ext. 2436.

Disabilities grant available at UH-Hilo

The University of Hawaii at Hilo Scholars with Disabilities Achievement Grant recognizes and honors a student with a disability for superior scholastic performance and who plans to enroll or is enrolled at UH-Hilo for the fall 2014 semester. The student must be enrolled either full- or part-time, have a 3.0 grade point average and be a qualified student with a disability. The application deadline is June 30.

For more information, alternate format request or an application form, contact the Disability Services office at 932-7623, 932-7002 (TTY) or email

Kealakehe Elementary council seeking new members

Kealakehe Elementary School Community Council is accepting nominations for community and parent components for the school year 2014-15. Representatives are asked to serve for two years.

The council’s primary roles are to review the school’s academic and financial plans to ensure students’ needs are met, provide opportunity for discussions on school improvement, participate in evaluation of the principal and submit request for waivers. The council meets monthly in the conference room.

Deadline for nominations is 4:30 p.m. May 23. To submit a name for nomination or for more information, call Nancy Matsukawa at 327-4308.

Summer program accepting applications

Kealakehe Elementary School’s 21st Century Community Learning Center is offering a summer school program from 8 a.m. to noon June 4 through July 2. Enrollment is open to all students in kindergarten through fifth grades. The fee is $159.

Applications are available at the school’s main office. Forms must be completed by May 9 and full payment is required by May 16 to hold a student’s place.

For more information, call Julee Robinson at 895-9971 or Myrna Kirihara at 327-4782.

Rosenberg scholars announced

The Kona 4-H Federation announces the recipients of the 2014 Sarah Rosenberg “Make a Difference” 4-H Scholarship. This scholarship was created in memory of Sarah Rosenberg. Rosenberg excelled in all areas of the 4-H Youth Development Program that included project work, leadership and community service.

The scholarships were awarded to Kona 4-H Federation high school seniors who best exemplified Rosenberg’s giving spirit as well as academic achievement, community service and the 4-H philosophy. The award recipients are: Kelly Andrews, Kealakehe, $1,250; Stefan Kimura, Konawaena, $1,250; Aimee Shiraki, Konawaena, $1,250; and Coran Yamamoto, Konawaena. $1,250.

NHCH offers scholarships

North Hawaii Community Hospital encourages residents to apply for three scholarship opportunities.

The Peggy Dineen-Orsini Scholarship offers one $2,000 award to a resident of Hawaii County who is enrolled in or accepted for enrollment in a National League of Nursing accredited program in Hawaii or on the mainland. Private donors along with the medical staff at NHCH fund this scholarship in memory of Peggy Dineen-Orsini, who was a registered nurse at North Hawaii Community Hospital for eight years.

The second scholarship is funded solely by the NHCH Medical Staff and offers two $1,000 scholarships to individuals who are enrolled in or accepted for enrollment in a National League of Nursing accredited program in Hawaii or on the mainland.

The third and final scholarship is funded by Hawaii Emergency Physicians Associated Inc., the independent, physician-owned group of board-certified physicians who provide staffing in NHCH’s Emergency Department. It is offering two $1,000 college scholarships to graduating North Hawaii high school students. For this scholarship, students are asked to write a personal letter describing their future plans and goals and to explain why their financial need is compelling.

All applications will be reviewed by the scholarship committee of each sponsoring organization based on the criteria and requirements outlined in the scholarship application, which can be found online at An important consideration in the selection process is financial need. Completed applications and all required documents must be received on or postmarked by May 9. Mail completed applications and required documents to North Hawaii Community Hospital, Attention: Human Resources, 67-1125 Mamalahoa Highway, Kamuela, HI 96743. For more information, contact Human Resources at 881-4410.

Matsunobu a semifinalist

Parker School senior Lysha Matsunobu has been selected as a 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program semifinalist. Out of close to 3.2 million graduating high school seniors from across the U.S., more than 4,000 were identified as candidates for the program. Matsunobu is one of 565 semifinalists selected from this group and the only one from the Big Island and one of six from the entire state.

Matsunobu, daughter of Miriam and Neal Matsunobu of Kona, has also recently advanced as a National Merit Finalist. As a student at Parker, she has been a Richard Smart Scholar, has earned the Yale Book Award, is an AP Scholar with Distinction, and has earned the National Forensics League Degree of Distinction for her accomplishments on the debate team. She is a member of the Parker School Investment Club, is National Honor Society President and Lincoln-Douglas Debate Captain.

Parker debaters wrap up season

At the State Forensic Championship at Iolani School April 10 to 12, three Parker School debate team members qualified for the National Forensic League National Tournament. Jaren Ashcraft, Carrie Hiller and Luke Potter will travel to Overland Park, Kan., for the national tournament June 15 through 20.

The Parker debate team placed third at states. Punahou placed first and Iolani second.