Tuesday | May 03, 2016
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

In Brief | Schools | 4-16-14

April 16, 2014 - 12:05am

Energy firm offers scholarship

Applications are now available for the Alternate Energy Inc. $1,000 scholarship. The scholarship is available to all Hawaii students attending an accredited university for the fall 2014 semester. Students in all fields of study are qualified for the award.

The scholarship submission deadline is July 27. The winning student will be notified on or before Aug. 11.

Alternate Energy Inc., based out of Oahu, has been a frontrunner in Hawaii’s solar energy movement for more than 20 years, striving to educate Hawaii residents on the financial and environmental benefits of choosing solar energy.

This marks the first year the company takes its efforts to the classroom with a scholarship prize. The prize will be awarded to a student who answers one of two short essay questions about the state of solar energy in Hawaii along with a short survey.

More information and additional eligibility requirements can be found at alternateenergyhawaii.com/scholarship.

Questions can be directed to scholarship@alternateenergyhawaii.com.

Two participate in Global Field Program

Graduate students in the Global Field Program from Miami University’s Project Dragonfly will travel this summer to Africa, Asia, Australia and the Americas to engage in action projects on vital human and ecological issues.

Rebecca Espinoza of Volcano will travel to Mongolia to study steppe ecology and civic media. As a student in the master’s program, Espinoza has also traveled to Baja to study field methods in desert and marine ecosystems. Espinoza is a research associate at Keauhou Bird Conservation Center.

Rachel Kingsley, also of Volcano, will travel to Guyana to study local wisdom and conservation. As a student in the master’s program, Kingsley has also traveled to Belize to study approaches to environmental stewardship. Kingsley is a research associate at Keauhou Bird Conservation Center.

Since the program began 10 years ago, Earth Expeditions graduate courses from Miami University’s Project Dragonfly have engaged more than 1,500 people in firsthand educational and scientific research at critical conservation field sites in Africa, Australia, Asia and the Americas.

Three scholarships offered by group

The Kona Chapter of the Royal Order of Kamehameha I Moku O Kona, is offering three $1,000 scholarships to graduating West Hawaii high school seniors to help them pursue their goals of higher education at a two- or four-year college. Criteria for selection can be found on the organization’s website. Applications are available by download at royalorderofkamehameha.org and completed applications must be submitted and postmarked by May 15.

Twigg-Smith receives award

Hannah Twigg-Smith, a senior at Hawaii Preparatory Academy, has received the 2014 Hawaii NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing. The award, sponsored by the National Center for Women &Information Technology and the University of Hawaii at Manoa, recognizes high school women for their computing-related achievements and interests as part of an effort to encourage more young women to choose careers in technology.

A total of six award-winners were selected from high schools across Hawaii for their outstanding aptitude and interest in information technology and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. The students will be recognized at an award ceremony Tuesday at the University of Hawaii Queen Liliuokalani Center on Oahu.

Twigg-Smith is involved with sports and research at HPA. She is a member of the school’s swimming/diving and water polo teams and is working on a number of research projects at the school’s Energy Lab. Her projects include work with the Imiloa Astronomy Center, creating the first virtual reality tours of all 11 Big Island observatories, development of a sleep apnea detection sensor and, most recently, collaboration with a drone team creating aerial, surface and underwater virtual reality scenes of coastal habitats.

Twigg-Smith recently presented her work at Macworld/iWorld 2014 in San Francisco and at Apple Headquarters in Cupertino, Calif.

Parker School recognizes students

Parker School has announced the names of students on its headmaster’s list and honor roll for the second trimester. Students must earn at least a 3.5 grade point average to be recognized.

Upper school

Jaren Ashcraft, Breanna Bellatti, Sarah Bellatti, Larissa Bolstad-Urquhart, Tawny Bright, Jamie Burns, Sean Dunnington, Eric Fetsch, Kevin Grace, Madyson Harper, Savannah Harriman-Pote, Carolyn Hiller, Darien Jones, Kosuke Kume, Kyra Matsuda, Lysha Matsunobu, Anna McFarland, Marlo Mundon, Grant Nair, Sivan Najita, Maddison Nelson, Kyley Nishimura, Luke Potter, Coco Romano Giordano, Mia Scibelli, Zoe Somerville, Maia Tarnas, Skye Waipa, Shelby Alligood, Eve Anderson, Seraphim Benoist, Shanelle Bolner, Athena Coley, Dashiell Cotton, Malia Davis, Julia Ebert, Zachary Gooding, Marie Jobes, Julia Lee, Maria Navarro, Mackenzie Nelson, Michael Note, Aolani Peiper, Keala Prietto, Harmony Ring, Isabella Robertson, Christina Sharpe, No’eau Simeona, Kathleen Smith, Olha Sosyak, Nohili Thompson, Joshua Yost, Zoe Zivalic.

Middle school

Jadyn Ashcraft, Jaipal Brar, Hali’a Buchal, Hunter Bugado, Lucy Callender, Anna Gaglione, Malaya Hill, Kirk Hubbard, Shen MacKenzie, Owen Matsuda, Craig McFarland, Alissa Mullin, Noelani Murray, Audrey Nixon, Macey Note, Shanti Scarpetta-Lee, Hiroki Soler, Zoe Vann, Jordan Vedelli, Zane Willman, Severin Wold, Tierney Woldm Meira Bonnici, Tage Boyette, Conner Brown, Kawena Ching, Ryanne Doherty, Kieran Wiese Gibson, Braedon Ingalls, Gracelyn Jardine, Sara Mundon, Kellen Sakaitani, Lee Weiser.