Sunday | December 10, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

In Brief | Schools 2-5-14

February 4, 2014 - 4:56pm

Hirono nominates Whalen to Air Force academy

James Whalen of Kailua-Kona, a student at Makua Lani Christian Academy, has been nominated by U.S. Sen. Mazie K. Hirono to the U.S. Air Force Academy for the class of 2018. His application will now be considered by the academy for final selection.

Whalen is a varsity athlete in soccer, tennis and cross-country, and was selected for the Olympic Development Program State Selection Camp in 2011. He currently sits on the honor roll and has received the principal’s award for his academic achievements. Additionally, he has been a dedicated member of the Boy Scouts and in August went to the Eagle Board of Review.

Ishihara earns spot on Linfield dean’s list

Dylan Ishihara of Waimea has been name to the Linfield College dean’s list for the fall semester. In order to be named to the dean’s list, students must complete 12 graded credits and be in the top 10 percent of their class.

The college is located in McMinnville, Ore.

Culinary federation presents scholarships

More than $32,000 was awarded in 2013 for scholarships to Hawaii Community College-West Hawaii culinary students, equipment for the culinary kitchen in Kealakekua and to American Culinary Federation Kona Kohala Chef members. Breaking it down, $16,974 was for scholarships to culinary students, $3,800 for kitchen equipment, and $11,337 for continuing education for members.

Over the past 25 years, the American Culinary Federation Kona Kohala Chefs Association has held a benefit at various properties to raise money in support of these scholarships. Since 2010, the benefit has been hosted by The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii as a premier holiday gala — a culinary and wine extravaganza.

On Dec, 14 at the benefit, executive sous chef Stephen Rouelle of the Fairmont Orchid presented scholarships to students Cindy Buan-Sugai, Tiffany Koeb Chesser, Cameron Linden, Darryl Tacdaran and Laurie Westrich for $1,000 each.

Nair named to college dean’s list

Cara Nair of Kailua-Kona was named to Fort Lewis College’s dean’s list for the fall semester. Nair’s major is interdisciplinary studies - teacher education option and economics - economics option.

To be eligible for dean’s list, a student must carry a semester grade point average of 3.6 or better in no fewer than 15 credit hours of graded college level work and have completed all work for which they are registered by the end of the semester.

Fort Lewis College is located in Durango, Colo.

Montana State recognizes Holdbrook

Clint Holdbrook of Kailua-Kona has been named to the Montana State University-Billings dean’s list.

The dean’s list is an honor roll of undergraduate students who earn 12 or more credits which are not of a pass/no pass nature and who earn a grade point average of 3.50 or better.

Lions club plans hearing screenings

Members of the Lions Club of Kona will hold hearing screenings for students in first and second grades on the following dates at these West Hawaii elementary schools: Hookena, Honaunau and Konawaena elementary schools, Feb. 13; Holualoa Elementary and Ke Kula O Ehunuikaimalino, Feb. 14; Innovations Public Charter and Kahakai Elementary schools, Feb. 20; and Kealakehe Elementary and Kona Pacific Public Charter schools, Feb. 21.

Parents are encouraged to take advantage of these free screenings for their keiki. The test takes only a few minutes, and participants are given the results immediately.

The Lions Club of Kona meets at 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month at Teshima’s Restaurant. Members are men and women who identify needs within the community and work together to fulfill those needs. For more information or to get involved with the Lions Club of Kona, contact Cecilie Burleson at

For more information about Lions Clubs International, visit

HPA students invited to district fair

Nine Hawaii Preparatory Academy middle school students have been invited to participate in the East Hawaii District Science and Engineering Fair. The event is being held Saturday at the Imiloa Astronomy Center in Hilo.

HPA participants and their projects are: Kiawehokua Tarnas, “The Beetle Trapper”; Kyra Hartley, “Rebel Radishes”; Kealia Haitsuka, “Cleaning Up the Ocean!”; Melia Van Kirk, “The Truth About Deep Breathing”; Gillian Winston, “Smartphone Radiation Reduction”; Chavis Arafiles, “Retainer No Brainer;” Hayden Virtue, “Organic Pesticides to Deter Pests on Eggplant”; Corey Patton-Lossner, “Temperature Rebound”; and Devyn Harmon “How Do Different Detergents Used In Graywater Affect Marigold Growth?”

AAUW offering three scholarships

The American Association of University Women Kona Branch will award three scholarships of $2,000 each to female high school seniors in West Hawaii who will be attending a two- or four-year college or university.

The criteria for choosing scholarship recipients are academic achievement; involvement in extracurricular high school activities, community organizations and employment experience; educational and career goals; and financial need. Application packets must be postmarked by April 14 and are available from high school counselors or online at

Any young women who are being home-schooled are also welcome to apply. These scholarships are unique in that the funds may be used for anything that enables the student to achieve her academic goals.

Founded in 1881, the AAUW is the oldest and largest women’s organization in the country. As its mission statement explains, AAUW promotes equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research. In addition to annual scholarships, AUUW Kona Branch stages the popular Girls Exploring Math and Science, or GEMS, program for fifth-grade girls, Pay Equity Day recognition, study groups examining a variety of women’s issues, and other activities to support the organization’s mission and goals.

For more information, email Ton Rimer at

Rules for posting comments