Thursday | March 23, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Stephens Media Hawaii wins 16 SPJ awards

June 29, 2014 - 10:01am

Stephens Media Hawaii took home 16 awards in the Society of Professional Journalists Hawaii chapter contest.

Awards were presented Friday in Honolulu. The Colorado SPJ chapter judged the entries. West Hawaii Today earned six awards, including two for first place.

In the all-media category for sports reporting, West Hawaii Today’s J.R. De Groote was a finalist for “Camacho conquers Kaiwi Channel.”

“Hats off to the writer for an in-depth look at the swimmer’s accomplishment — especially after very painful jellyfish stings,” the judges said.

The all-media category includes newspaper, television, radio, magazines and online venues.

In the all-newspaper category, there West Hawaii Today reporter Erin Milller was a finalist for business reporting.

Miller was lauded for “Kona Village laying off last workers.”

First place for news page design went to Joseph Mountain of West Hawaii Today for “Design: Snow and Ironman preview.”

“Nice use of photo with banner. Good headline with color splash ‘m’ in middle,” the judges said.

Nancy Cook Lauer, of West Hawaii Today, was a finalist in the category for “Food thrown out.”

Carolyn Lucas-Zenk of West Hawaii Today was a finalist in the category with “Fixing pools gone amuck.”

“Story brings light to an environmental issue in a community in a compelling manner,” judges said.

West Hawaii Today associate editor Brenda Jensen took first place for feature page design with “Got rocks?”

West Hawaii Today-affiliate, the Hawaii Tribune-Herald won 10 awards, including three first-place honors.

Rules for posting comments